Jump to content

Reorienting eVoting and ensuring stable trial operation

Studies have shown that electronic voting is one of the eGovernment services which is most in demand by the general public. The aim of the Confederation and the cantons is to promote the introduction of electronic voting. In Switzerland, electronic voting was introduced through pilot schemes from 2004 onwards. In over 300 trials, a total of 15 cantons made electronic voting possible for a number of their voters. However, eVoting is currently not possible in Switzerland.

With electronic voting, the Swiss culture and traditions of political rights are moving into the digital age. eVoting simplifies the voting procedure for elections and votes, and prevents invalid votes from being cast. It also improves the counting process.
Voters should be free to choose: they can cast their vote by letter, in person at the ballot box or, if their canton offers eVoting, electronically. The electronic channel is thus intended as an additional option which offers an accessible, mobile and traceable option for voting.

Secure e-voting in Switzerland

Federal structure of political rights in Switzerland

The Confederation regulates the exercise of political rights in federal matters. The cantons are responsible for the implementation of federal elections and are therefore the actual project managers for the introduction and implementation of eVoting. They decide whether, when and with which system electronic voting should be offered. The Confederation is responsible for the approval and authorisation of eVoting in federal elections. Only systems that meet the Confederation's stringent security requirements are authorised.

Implementation status of electronic voting

eVoting was offered in ten cantons until early 2019. At that time, the cantons had two eVoting systems to choose from: that of the canton of Geneva and that of Swiss Post. Based on its decision of November 2018, the canton of Geneva announced in June 2019 that its system would no longer be available with immediate effect. Swiss Post announced on 5 July 2019 that its individually verifiable system would no longer be available to the cantons. It is focusing on improvement measures for the new system.
 
As no eVoting system is currently permitted in Switzerland, trials with eVoting are not possible in Switzerland at the moment (situation since July 2019).

Redesign of trial phase

On 26 June 2019, the Federal Council commissioned the Federal Chancellery to work with the cantons to redesign the trial phase of e-voting. The aim is to establish stable trial operations using e-voting systems, which are fully verifiable. The redesign of the trial phase focuses on the following four objectives:

  1. Further development of the systems
  2. Effective controls and monitoring
  3. Increasing transparency and trust
  4. Stronger connection with the scientific community

The Federal Council  has tasked the Federal Chancellery with the gradual implementation of the new redesign measures and to present a draft consultation document containing the necessary amendments to the legal bases. Once these amendments have been made and the systems independently tested, e-voting trials can be relaunched.

Consultation procedure 2021

At its meeting on 28 April 2021 the Federal Council decided to open the consultation procedure for the redesign of electronic voting trials. The Ordinance on Political Rights (PoRO) will undergo a partial revision and the Federal Chancellery Ordinance on Electronic Voting ("VEleS", OEV) will be completely revised. This is intended to create a new, stable basis for e-voting trials.

Description of target state

The Confederation and the cantons develop a stable eVoting operation with fully verifiable systems. They establish a new process for risk management. The aim is to provide the cantons with optimum support when introducing eVoting.

Measures supported in the implementation plan

Measures End date
M1: Ensure support in meeting security requirements, implementing risk-minimising measures and certification. 31.12.2023
M2: Implement supporting measures to promote confidence in electronic voting. 31.12.2023
M3: Implement the legislative process: Review the legal basis of the Confederation with regard to effective certification and approval processes and security requirements. 31.12.2023
M4: Support cantonal projects to introduce eVoting. 31.12.2023

Further information

Further information can be found here

Organisation responsible for project

Swiss Federal Chancellery, Political Rights Section

Contact person: Mirjam Hostettler

Contact: mirjam.hostettler(at)bk.admin.ch,  +41 58 467 21 64

Aller directement au contenu.

Réorienter le vote électronique et mettre en place une phase d’essai stable

Des études montrent que la possibilité d’exprimer sa voix en ligne lors des scrutins et des élections est l’une des prestations électroniques des autorités les plus demandées par la population. C’est pourquoi la Confédération et les cantons entendent favoriser l’instauration du vote électronique. Une phase d’essai lancée en 2004 a permis à une partie des citoyens et des citoyennes suisses d’utiliser cette voie. À ce jour, plus de 300 tests ont été effectués dans quinze cantons au total. Il n’est toutefois pas encore possible de voter par voie électronique en Suisse.

Le vote électronique permettra de faire entrer la culture et les traditions suisses en matière de droits politiques dans l’ère du numérique. Il simplifie la procédure de vote lors des scrutins et des élections, empêche le dépôt de bulletins non valables et améliore la procédure de dépouillement.
 
Les personnes qui ont le droit de vote pourront ainsi exprimer leur avis de trois manières différentes: par correspondance, aux urnes ou en ligne, pour autant que leur canton offre cette possibilité. Venant s’ajouter aux canaux existants, la voie électronique sera accessible à toutes et tous et permettra de voter de manière mobile et vérifiable.

La sécurité du vote électronique en Suisse

Organisation fédéraliste des droits politiques en Suisse

La Confédération règle l’exercice des droits politiques au niveau fédéral. Les cantons sont responsables de l’exécution des scrutins fédéraux et, par conséquent, les véritables chefs du projet d’introduction et de mise en œuvre du vote électronique. Ils décident s’ils veulent proposer le vote électronique, quand ils l’instaureront et quel système ils utiliseront. Pour sa part, la Confédération a compétence pour délivrer les autorisations et agréments nécessaires à la tenue des scrutins fédéraux par voie électronique. Elle agrée uniquement les systèmes qui répondent à ses exigences élevées en matière de sécurité.

Etat de la mise en œuvre du vote électronique

Au début de 2019, dix cantons proposaient le vote électronique. Ils avaient le choix entre deux systèmes: celui du canton de Genève ou celui de la Poste Suisse. Confirmant sa décision de novembre 2018, le canton de Genève a annoncé en juin 2019 qu’il renonçait avec effet immédiat à mettre son système à disposition. Le 5 juillet 2019, la Poste Suisse a indiqué qu’elle ne fournirait plus aux cantons son système garantissant la vérification des votes sur le plan individuel. La Poste se focalise sur les mesures visant à améliorer le nouveau système.
 
Étant donné qu’aucun système de vote électronique ne dispose pour l’heure de l’agrément requis, il n’est pas possible de faire des tests (état depuis juillet 2019).

Restructuration de la phase d’essai

Le Conseil fédéral a chargé la Chancellerie fédérale, le 26 juin 2019, de concevoir avec les cantons une restructuration de la phase d’essai du vote électronique, l’objectif étant de mettre en place une phase d’essai stable reposant sur des systèmes de vote électronique offrant la vérifiabilité complète. La restructuration de la phase d’essai se fait en fonction des objectifs suivants :
 
  1. Poursuite du développement des systèmes
  2. Surveillance et contrôles efficaces
  3. Renforcement de la transparence et de la confiance
  4. Renforcement des liens avec les milieux scientifiques

Le Conseil fédéral a chargé la Chancellerie fédérale de mettre en œuvre par étapes les mesures nécessaires à la restructuration des essais, mais aussi de lui présenter, d’ici au milieu de l’année 2021, en vue de l’organisation d’une consultation, un projet contenant les adaptations requises des bases légales. Les essais pourront reprendre une fois que les bases légales auront été adaptées et que les systèmes auront été soumis avec succès à un audit indépendant.

Procédure de consultation 2021

Lors de sa séance du 28 avril 2021, le Conseil fédéral a décidé d’ouvrir la procédure de consultation consacrée à la restructuration de la phase d’essai du vote électronique. Le projet, qui porte sur la révision partielle de l’ordonnance sur les droits politiques (ODP) et sur la révision totale de l’ordonnance de la ChF sur le vote électronique (OVotE), vise à créer un nouveau fondement, stable, en vue de la future phase d’essai.

Objectif

La Confédération et les cantons mettent en place une exploitation stable du vote électronique, à l’aide de systèmes entièrement vérifiables. Ils définissent en outre un nouveau processus de gestion des risques. L’objectif est de soutenir les cantons de manière optimale dans l’adoption du vote électronique.

Mesures soutenues dans le cadre du plan de mise en œuvre

Mesures Délai
M1: soutien en matière de satisfaction des exigences de sécurité, d’application de mesures de réduction des risques ainsi que de certification 31.12.2023
M2: mesures de soutien visant à renforcer la confiance dans le vote électronique 31.12.2023
M3: exécution du processus législatif, en particulier examen du droit fédéral régissant les processus de certification et d’autorisation et les exigences de sécurité, afin de garantir leur efficacité 31.12.2023
M4: soutien de projets cantonaux visant l’adoption du vote électronique 31.12.2023

Documentation

Informations complémentaires

Organisation responsable du projet

Chancellerie fédérale, Section des droits politiques

Interlocuteur : Mirjam Hostettler

Contact : mirjam.hostettler(at)bk.admin.ch,  +41 58 467 21 64