Jump to content

Developing a concept for the traceability of the use of personal data

Every day, we leave digital traces behind us, whether when we make a phone call while on the move, or use a search engine to look up information, or go onto social media. But rarely do we know what personal data is being collected and for what purpose.
 
Administrations also collect and process personal data in their day-to-day activities. Nowadays, those affected usually do not automatically know which administrative units have access to this data and whether it is exchanged in order to comply with legal requirements. In the 2020-2023 eGovernment Strategy Switzerland, the «openness and transparency» principle stipulates that, wherever possible, personal data must be made available in a way that allows those affected to view their own data electronically and manage it where appropriate, as well as authorise or refuse its dissemination to third parties. The re-use of data must be proportionate and non-discriminatory. For such access management to even be possible, transparent data flows are required. In a first step, the public should be shown which personal data has been viewed or used by an authority.

Description of target state

The basis should be created for access tracking that records the use of personal data by administration staff or administrative units. A study should be set up to examine which standards, interfaces, bus systems or other components need to be put in place for this purpose. It should also be clarified whether full access tracking is practicable or whether partial implementation should be the goal.

Measures supported in the implementation plan

Measures End date
Draw up specifications for the tender and conduct the procurement. 31.12.2020
Prepare a concept for a log system architecture that shows the public which personal data an authority has viewed or used. 31.12.2021

Organisation responsible for the project

eGovernment Switzerland Programme Office
Schwarztorstrasse 59, 3003 Bern
 
Contact person: Marcel Kessler
Contact: marcel.kessler(at)egovernment.ch, +41 58 46 05293

Aller directement au contenu.

Élaborer un modèle de traçabilité de l’utilisation des données personnelles

Nous laissons tous les jours des traces numériques: que ce soit en téléphonant, en consultant des informations via des moteurs de recherche ou sur les réseaux sociaux. Toutefois, nous savons rarement quelles données personnelles sont collectées et comment elles sont utilisées.
 
L’administration récolte elle aussi des données personnelles qu’elle traite dans son travail quotidien. Mais les propriétaires de ces données ne savent souvent pas quels services administratifs y ont accès ni si leurs données sont échangées en vue d’accomplir un mandat légal. Selon le principe «Ouverture et transparence» de la stratégie suisse de cyberadministration 2020-2023, les données personnelles doivent être préparées pour que les personnes concernées puissent y accéder électroniquement, les gérer elles-mêmes et en autoriser ou non la transmission à des tiers. La réutilisation des données doit s’inscrire dans un cadre proportionné et non discriminatoire. Pour permettre une telle gestion des accès, il est nécessaire que la circulation des données soit transparente. Dans un premier temps, la population doit être en mesure de savoir quelles données personnelles ont été consultées ou utilisées par une autorité.

Objectif

L’objectif est de créer les bases permettant d’assurer la traçabilité des accès aux données personnelles, autrement dit d’enregistrer l’utilisation de ces données par les collaborateurs ou les unités de l’administration. Une étude doit être réalisée pour déterminer quelles normes et interfaces et quels systèmes de bus et autres composants sont nécessaires à cet effet. Il s’agit également de clarifier s’il est possible d’assurer une traçabilité complète des accès ou s’il faut se contenter d’une traçabilité partielle.

Mesures soutenues dans le cadre du plan de mise en œuvre

Mesures Délai
Élaboration d’un cahier des charges pour l’appel d’offres et acquisition. 31.12.2020
Élaboration du modèle d’architecture d’un système de journalisation indiquant quelles données personnelles ont été consultées ou utilisées par quelle autorité. 31.12.2021

Organisation responsable du projet

Direction opérationnelle de la cyberadministration suisse
Schwarztorstrasse 59, 3003 Berne
 
Renseignements: Marcel Kessler
Coordonnées: marcel.kessler(at)egovernment.ch, +41 58 46 05293