Jump to content

Establishment of an electronic identity (E-ID) that is valid nationally and internationally

The aim of the strategic project is for internet users to be able to identify themselves correctly and securely. They require an electronic identity in order to do so.

Aims of the strategic project

More and more people are carrying out diverse transactions on the internet which require them to identify themselves. The electronic identity (E-ID) used for this purpose should be correct and protect against confusion. In order to prevent falsified electronic identities being issued, the Federal Council has defined the core task of issuing an E-ID, i.e. officially checking and confirming the existence of the person and their identifying features such as name, sex and date of birth, as government responsibility.

However, the Confederation will neither develop nor issue the technological medium that this state certified and confirmed identity will take; options include mobile telephones, bank cards, public transport passes. This is to be done by providers who are closer to users and the relevant technology. However, it will be the federal government's job to make sure providers and their solutions undergo a strict recognition procedure and are also subject to regular checks. A certification authority for this purpose established within the Federal Department of Finance (EFD) will assume this task.

The use and disclosure of data is in sole control of the person concerned. On the other hand, each online service provider can decide for itself whether they require the state certified identity in order to allow people to use their services or not.

The E-ID is a key infrastructure element on which further digital services can be built, e.g. fully digital eGovernment, eVoting, eBanking, eHealth, eEducation and eCommerce. It should make an important contribution to Switzerland's digital transformation in the process.

Dispatch on eID Act adopted

Business processes are increasingly being moved to the digital world. To make it possible for more demanding transactions to be carried out online too, business partners need to be able to trust the identity of the other party. Consequently, the Federal Council wishes to create the legal and organisational framework for electronic identification services. Having acknowledged the results of the consultation process, it instructed the Federal Department of Justice and Police (FDJP) during its meeting on 15 November 2017 to prepare a draft law. On 1 June 2018, the Federal Council adopted the dispatch on the Federal Act on Recognised Electronic Means of Identification.

Measures supported in the strategic plan

Measure / Deliverable Deadline
Establishment of a legal framework for state-recognised electronic means of identification (eID) which allows a needs-based internet identification and authentication, particularly for portals of the federal authorities. By taking international standards and requirements into account, this eID will later be recognised in the EU. postponed (31.12.2020)
Creation of a standardisation framework for state-recognised electronic means of identification (eID). Definition of the technical and organisational standards, security levels and technical rules which are obligatory for state-recognised eID systems. In particular, these should ensure unobstructed in-teroperability between recognised eID systems and be compatible with EU regulations.

31.12.2018

Development and further development of a "demonstrator" and a design recommendation (best practices) for the state-recognised eID as a reference model and, in particular, as a contribution to communication and marketing.

31.12.2019

Creation of an attribute interface at the State Identity Service (SIS).
This will happen in parallel with the political consultations concerning the planned eID Act.

31.12.2019

Project status

The Federal Council acknowledged the results of the consultation during its meeting on 15 November 2017. Taking into account the feedback from the consultation, the FDJP has now prepared a dispatch for a Federal Act on Electronic Identification Services (eID Act).

Documentation

Federal Office of Justice (information in German)

Organisation responsible

Federal Office of Police fedpol

Contact person: Philippe Lorenz

Contact: philippe.lorenz(at)fedpol.admin.ch, +41 58 485 08 44

Aller directement au contenu.

Création d'une identité électronique (E-ID) valable en Suisse et à l'étranger

Le but de ce projet stratégique est de permettre aux utilisateurs de s'identifier d'une manière correcte et sécurisée sur Internet. Pour ce faire, ces derniers ont besoin d'une identité électronique.

But du projet stratégique

De plus en plus de personnes effectuent des opérations sur Internet pour lesquelles une identification est nécessaire. L'identité électronique (E-ID) utilisée à cet effet doit être correcte et propre à chaque utilisateur. Pour éviter que de fausses identités électroniques soient créées, le Conseil fédéral a décidé que c'est l'État qui devra assumer la tâche principale à accomplir avant de délivrer une identité électronique, à savoir contrôler officiellement et confirmer l'existence d'une personne ainsi que les caractéristiques permettant de l'identifier (nom, sexe, date de naissance).
En revanche, les supports matériels nécessaires pour utiliser cette identité électronique contrôlée et confirmée par l'État, par exemple les téléphones mobiles, les cartes bancaires ou les abonnements de transports publics, ne seront ni développés ni délivrés par la Confédération. Cette tâche reviendra à des prestataires qui sont plus proches des utilisateurs et des technologies concernées. Celle de l'État sera de soumettre les prestataires et les solutions que ceux-ci proposent à des procédures de reconnaissance très strictes et à des contrôles réguliers. Un organisme de reconnaissance constitué à cet effet au Département fédéral des finances assumera cette tâche.
La décision d'utiliser et de valider les données revient exclusivement aux personnes concernées. Les fournisseurs de services en ligne sont libres quant à eux de décider si l'identité électronique reconnue par les pouvoirs publics est requise pour utiliser leur service.
L'identité électronique est un élément de l'infrastructure clé sur lequel reposent d'autres services numériques destinés, par exemple, à généraliser la cyberadministration, le vote électronique, l'e-banking, la cybersanté, la cyberéducation ou le commerce en ligne. Elle facilitera grandement le passage de la Suisse au tout numérique.

Adoption du message relatif à la loi sur les services d’identification électronique

Les échanges passent toujours plus souvent par des voies dématérialisées. Pour pouvoir faire des transactions importantes sur Internet, les partenaires doivent pouvoir se fier à l’identité de leur interlocuteur. Le Conseil fédéral souhaite donc créer un cadre juridique et organisationnel pour les services d’identification électronique. Après avoir pris connaissance des résultats de la consultation, il a chargé le Département fédéral de justice et police (DFJP) lors de sa séance du 15 novembre 2017 de rédiger un projet de loi. Lors de sa séance du 1er juin 2018, il a adopté un message relatif à la loi sur les services d’identification électronique (LSIE) à l’intention du Parlement.

Émission de l'identité électronique

Le film suivant explique comment l'État et les prestataires privés collaboreront pour élaborer l'identité électronique.

Mesures soutenues dans le cadre du plan stratégique

Mesures Echéance
Création d'un cadre normatif pour les moyens d'identification électronique (e-ID) reconnus par l’État; définition des normes techniques et organisationnelles, des niveaux de sécurité et des règles techniques obligatoires pour les systèmes e-ID. Ces derniers doivent notamment garantir une interopérabilité totale entre les moyens d'identification et être compatibles avec la règlementation européenne. 31.12.2018
Création d'un cadre juridique pour les moyens d'identification électronique (e-ID) reconnus par l’État, qui permettent d'accéder aux services sur Internet et plus particulièrement aux portails de la cyberadministration exigeant une identification et une authentification. En respectant les directives et les normes internationales en la matière, ces moyens d'identification devront aussi être reconnus à l'avenir dans l'Union européenne.

reporté (31.12.2020)

Développement et perfectionnement ultérieur d'un exemple et élaboration de recommandations (bonnes pratiques) pour, d'une part, créer un modèle de référence d'identité électronique reconnue par l'État et, d'autre part, contribuer à la communication et au marketing.

31.12.2019

Développement de l'application de gestion des attributs pour le Service d'identité électronique (SIE) parallèlement aux délibérations politiques relatives à la loi e-ID.

31.12.2019

Documentation

Documents complémentaires sur le site internet de l'Office fédéral de la justice (OFJ)
Présentation: une identité électronique reconnue par l'Etat pour la Suisse
Format:
PDF
Taille:
659 kb
Actualisé:

Organisation responsable du projet

Office fédéral de la police (fedpol)

Interlocuteur: Philippe Lorenz

Contact: philippe.lorenz(at)fedpol.admin.ch, +41 58 485 08 44