Jump to content

Establishing a cross-authority master data management system

Master data is defined as fundamental information which the administration needs for its activities or which is required for ongoing business processing. Examples include information on individuals, companies, places, buildings and land. "Joint master data" refers to master data that is relevant for more than one administrative unit.
 
Joint master data management is an important component for supporting the digital transformation of public services. The master data defined at federal level should also be made available to the cantonal and communal public administrations.
 
In the future, master data that is used multiple times should be jointly managed and made available for use to administrations at all federal levels and other authorised circles. Joint master data management enables citizens and companies to provide data to the administration "once only" and allows the authorities to provide their services more efficiently and in a more customer-oriented manner. This reduces the burden on both citizens and businesses.

Description of target state

As part of this implementation objective, an overview of the legal, organisational and technical measures required to enable cantonal and communal administrations to access federal master data will be prepared. In addition, an identification and documentation system is to be prepared that shows in which core registers or national services the master data and associated unique identifiers are kept. A proposal for a governance model for the national data infrastructure will also be produced.
 
The following core registers and reference systems are of particular interest:
 
Businesses:
  • Business and Enterprise Register (BER)
  • Business Identification Register (UID)
Buildings and geodata:
  • Register of Buildings and Dwellings (RBD)
  • Federal geodata infrastructure (FGDI)
Individuals:
  • Communal and cantonal registers of residents via national address service
The long-term objective is that the coordination of these five basic registers and infrastructures should take place under a central "National data infrastructure" umbrella organisation, but that the management of these basic registers and infrastructures should be ensured on a decentralised basis.

Measures supported in the implementation plan

Measures End date
Develop a technical concept, reference architecture and organisational concept for the management of registers in accordance with the once only principle in cooperation with offices of the Federal Administration and a pilot canton (scope: individuals, businesses, buildings and apartments, as well as geodata). 31.12.2023
Draw up an inventory of the master data used by the Confederation, the cantons and the communes in cooperation with all levels of government; compile a national data glossary that is comprehensible for all specialist areas. 31.12.2023
Conduct a pilot project at the FSO and a pilot canton.
31.12.2023

Documentation

Strategy for the expansion of the federal joint master data management system (in German)

Organisation responsible for the project

Federal Department of Home Affairs, DHA
Federal Statistical Office, FSO
Espace de l'Europe 10, CH-2010 Neuchâtel

Contact person: Bertrand Loison (ad interim)
Contact: Bertrand.Loison@bfs.admin.ch, +41 58 46 36770

Aller directement au contenu.

Mettre en place une gestion transversale des données de base des autorités

Les données de base sont définies comme des informations fondamentales dont l’administration a impérativement besoin pour ses activités ou qui sont nécessaires dans le déroulement des affaires. Il s’agit par exemple d‘informations sur des personnes, des entreprises, des lieux, des bâtiments et des terrains.  Par «données de base communes», on entend des données de base qui servent à plus d’une unité administrative.
 
La gestion commune des données de base est un élément central pour soutenir la transformation numérique des autorités. Les données de base définies à l’échelle de la Confédération doivent être mises également à la disposition des administrations publiques des cantons et des communes.
 
À l’avenir, les données de base utilisées plusieurs fois seront gérées en commun et mises à la disposition d‘administrations de tous les niveaux de l‘État et à d’autres milieux autorisés. La gestion commune des données de base permet aux citoyens et aux entreprises de ne communiquer leurs données qu’une seule fois à l‘administration (principe «once only»). Les citoyens comme les entreprises y trouvent un avantage.

Objectif

Il s’agit d’établir une vue d’ensemble des mesures juridiques, organisationnelles et techniques qui sont nécessaires pour permettre l’accès des administrations cantonales et communales aux données de base de la Confédération. En outre, il faut identifier et documenter dans quels registres de base ou services nationaux les données de base et les identifiants univoques correspondants doivent être gérés. De plus, un modèle de gouvernance pour l’infrastructure nationale des données sera proposé.
 
Les registres de base et systèmes de référence ci-après revêtent un intérêt particulier:
 
Entreprises:
  • Registre des entreprises et des établissements (REE)
  • Numéro d‘identification des entreprises (IDE)
Objets et géoinformations:
  • Registre des bâtiments et des logements (RegBL)
  • Infrastructure fédérale de données géographiques (IFDG)
Personnes:
  • Registres communaux et cantonaux des habitants via le service national des adresses (SNA).
L’objectif à long terme est que ces cinq registres de base et infrastructures soient coordonnés sous l’égide d’une organisation centrale appelée «Infrastructure nationale des données», mais que la gestion de ces registres de base et infrastructures soit décentralisée.

Mesures soutenues dans le cadre du plan de mise en œuvre

Mesures Délai
Élaboration d’un modèle technique, d’une architecture de référence et d’un modèle d’organisation pour la gestion des registres selon le principe «une fois pour toutes» (once only), en collaboration avec les offices de l’administration fédérale et un canton pilote (étendue: personnes, entreprises, bâtiments et logements et géoinformations). 31.12.2023
Établissement d’un inventaire des données de base utilisées par la Confédération, les cantons et les communes, en collaboration avec eux; élaboration d’un glossaire national des données compréhensible par tous les domaines spécialisés.  31.12.2023
Réalisation d’un projet pilote à l’OFS et dans un canton. 31.12.2023

Documentation

Stratégie pour le développement de la gestion commune des données de base de la Confédération (en Allemand)

Organisation responsable du projet

Département fédéral de l’intérieur, DFI
Office fédéral de la statistique, OFS

Espace de l’Europe 10, CH-2010 Neuchâtel

Contact: Bertrand Loison
Coordonnées: Bertrand.Loison@bfs.admin.ch, +41 58 46 36770