Jump to content

E-participation projects in 2021

The planning committee has decided to support the following e-participation projects in 2021:

«Lausanne participates» – digital citizen participation platform (city of Lausanne)

The city of Lausanne wants to develop a digital platform promoting citizen participation, strengthening local democracy and making the city more inclusive. The project is in line with plans relating to digital strategy and the city's participation strategy, as well as with its strong desire to guarantee citizen participation despite the current health measures that are limiting face-to-face meetings. The city of Lausanne wants to make use of civic technologies, in order to promote and inject dynamism into participation by reaching a wide public and young people in particular.

With this in mind, it hat developped the «Lausanne participates» platform using the well-known Decidim open source software. This tool allows all the participative steps to be connected up seamlessly, efforts to be combined and readability for the population to be improved. The project is planning to evaluate the pilot phase of the platform's launch, adapt the platform to Lausanne's specific needs with a few necessary add-ons, acquire internal skills and know-how on eParticipation (training and support) and promote the «Lausanne participates» platform to the general public and in the city's different neighbourhoods over the course of the first year.

Enabling collaboration via a digital, standardised platform (canton of Zug)

Public administrations are facing the challenge of integrating their internal and external stakeholder groups into projects and processes for development and validation purposes. Often, an internal or public consultation is performed. Using the "eCollaboration" digital consultation platform, which is deployed in several other cantons, cities and communes in addition to Zug, the consultation process can be vastly simplified.

During the use of the digital consultation, it was realised that considerable value added can be achieved, both for the administration and for the invited external organisations (e.g. parties, associations) or the population, by setting up collaborative feedback recording. The aim is to develop a hierarchically collaborative recording function, so that comments at each level within the organisation can be recorded online, consolidated by the next-higher level and released as consultation responses. This process step allows consultations within and outside the administrations to be processed more efficiently, consistently and seamlessly for all participants via a central platform. This can help to speed up decision-making and vastly simplify collaboration within the administration (Confederation, cantons, cities and communes). Organisations outside the administration are provided with a service tool for them to collaborate or record their own comments, and they are therefore able to exploit the advantages of digital public services.

As part of the project, an implementation concept is to be drawn up and validated with various cantons. Once the module is rolled out, a list of best practices will be drawn up and published. This will describe, among other things, how consultations can be implemented collaboratively.

Online community meetings in the Upper Valais (villages of Bitsch, Täsch and Salgesch)

In the first quarter of 2021, three community meetings are to be held online in the Upper Valais. Those interested can call up information and follow debates while at home or on the move. The aim of the project is to attract people of all ages and strengthen political debate within these communities. The project's target audience is older people in particular, who belong to risk groups and are therefore avoiding the village meeting, young people, who tend to be less interested in village politics, and other interested members of the population who shy away from appearing in public but are still interested in keeping informed.

Thanks to a financial contribution from eGovernment Switzerland, the pilot operation can be carried out with different suppliers in three communes. Implementation will vary depending on the supplier. The differing arrangements should help the communes to identify the options and recognise any challenges. This means that the communes will be able to run future events autonomously and without professional support. Life in the three communes should be made more attractive by allowing all residents to actively participate in political life in the commune at all times.

Speakers’ Corner (city of Lugano)

Speakers' Corner aims to be a (virtual) place for students to meet and exchange ideas with the city they are studying in. A virtual space, conceived as a participative platform, where students can debate and discuss between themselves, and at the same time interact with the institutions. Speakers' Corner was originally launched as a pilot project in 2020: 25 students took part in a workshop in which web communication professionals, journalists and entrepreneurs provided their recommendations.

The project is aimed at providing students with an interface to day-to-day society, the general public, businesses, etc. A virtual showcase where they can present their research, which too often risks being confined to an academic context. The city (Lugano municipal administration), for its part, can take advantage of the network to interact with the students and understand their needs. Based on these encouraging results, in 2021 the project will become an annual activity and, in parallel, a web portal will be set up which will include a participative platform. The developed solution (web portal) is essentially divided into two macro-domains: the part relating to video presentations of students' research, and the participative platform.

Decidim network Switzerland (city of Zurich)

Last year, and likewise thanks to a contribution from eGovernment Switzerland, the city of Zurich was able to successfully test the Decidim open source software from Barcelona in its project "District idea". In addition to the city of Zurich, which now also wants to use Decidim in a number of other projects, the canton of Geneva is also using the flexible software. Other Swiss cities are likewise in the process of implementing it. Currently, all the project owners are adapting the software to their needs.

The aim of this project is to establish a network that coordinates the individual adaptations, in order to optimise the synergy effects of this open source software. For example, modules for security, user-friendliness or functionality (e.g. consultations) can be developed jointly. This coordination benefits smaller players in particular (cities, communes, NGOs), as the software is constantly republished and made available for free.

Thanks to the support of eGovernment Switzerland, the coordination of public bodies is secured for the future by a Swiss Decidim network, which could be organised as an association. Specifically, the funding by eGovernment Switzerland ((CHF 25,000)) will allow the setting-up and pilot operation of a joint Decidim platform modelled along the lines of the Barcelona Meta-Decidim project. On this platform, instructions, FAQs and contacts for other public bodies can be made freely available.

eParticipation platform for collaborative processes on meinthurgau.ch (city of Arbon)

In the legislature plan for 2019 to 2023, the Arbon city council wants to promote digital participation by the population. For this purpose, the city of Arbon's social department has launched the project "eParticipation platform for collaborative processes". The evaluation of a number of platforms has revealed that the development of specific eParticipation tools on the multi-service platform www.meinthurgau.ch appears the most promising way to promote the involvement of the population in municipal projects. In a pilot run, the platform's standard tools were used to compile experiences and assess which eParticipation tools still need to be developed. Under a shared approach, the developed tools will also be available to other communes and the canton, via the meinthurgau.ch platform. The project has the following objectives:

  • Increasing the transparency of the political community's development projects.
  • Promoting the involvement of all population groups – regardless of age, nationality or status – in specific municipal and societal developments.
  • Designing needs-oriented and sustainable services and projects.
  • Establishing a user-friendly eParticipation platform in consultation with other municipal IT projects (new website, smart city concept, etc.).
  • Developing an innovative IT solution that can be adapted by other cities and communes.

Regio Frauenfeld app – for more efficient communes and greater citizen participation in the Frauenfeld region (Frauenfeld region)

Strong population growth, high numbers of professional commuters and limited administrative resources are making it increasingly difficult for communes in the Frauenfeld region to quantify the needs of their citizens. This was revealed by a representative survey carried out in autumn 2020 in the 15 communes concerned.

Forms of digital participation such as the Regio Frauenfeld app, which contains commune information as well as survey and discussion functions, could provide a solution and help both the population and the administrations. An app allows the population to be involved in the commune wherever and whenever they choose. At the same time, communes can more efficiently canvas and automatically analyse their citizens' needs. As its use by the population grows, the Regio app will be optimally adjusted to user needs.

The Regio app project is taking place in two to three typical model communes in the Frauenfeld region. After the basic app functions have been developed, they will be tested and evaluated by the population. The app will then be refined with the input of the population, and training courses will be organised for the communal administrations. A regional app also allows small communes to have access to more efficient forms of citizen involvement, which they would find (too) expensive to maintain on their own. The fact that data from an entire region can be consulted makes the app much more attractive for the individual users.

Aller directement au contenu.

Projets de participation en ligne 2021

Le comité de planification a décidé de soutenir les projets de participation en ligne suivants en 2021:

«Lausanne participe» – plateforme numérique de participation citoyenne (Ville de Lausanne)

La ville de Lausanne souhaite développer une plateforme numérique qui favorise la participation citoyenne, renforce la démocratie locale et rend la ville plus inclusive. Ce projet s’insère dans les réflexions liées à la stratégie numérique et la stratégie participation de la municipalité, ainsi que dans sa volonté forte de garantir la participation citoyenne malgré les mesures sanitaires actuelles qui limitent les rencontres en présentiel. La ville de Lausanne souhaite se servir des «technologies civiques» (civic tech) afin de promouvoir et dynamiser la participation en touchant un large public, notamment les jeunes.

Pour ce faire, elle a développé la plateforme «Lausanne participe» grâce au logiciel open source reconnu Decidim. Cet outil permet de regrouper toutes les démarches participatives de façon transversale, de mutualiser les forces et de gagner en lisibilité auprès de la population. Le projet prévoit d’évaluer la phase pilote du lancement de la plateforme, d’adapter la plateforme aux besoins spécifiques lausannois avec quelques développements complémentaires nécessaires, de gagner en connaissances et en compétences à l’interne en matière d’eParticipation (formations et supports) ainsi que de promouvoir la plateforme dénommée «Lausanne participe» largement auprès de la société civile et dans les différents quartiers au cours de la première année.

Permettre une coopération solidaire sur une plateforme numérique standardisée (canton de Zoug)

Les administrations sont confrontées au défi d’intégrer leurs groupes d’interlocuteurs internes et externes dans des projets et des processus en vue de les développer et de les valider. À cet effet, elles procèdent souvent à des consultations internes ou informelles. Ce processus de consultation peut être fortement simplifié grâce à la plateforme numérique de consultation «E-Mitwirkung», qui est utilisée dans le canton de Zoug, mais aussi dans de nombreux autres cantons, villes et communes.

On a constaté que la consultation par voie numérique apportait une grande valeur ajoutée pour l’administration comme pour les organisations externes invitées (par ex. partis, associations) ou pour la population par le biais de la saisie collaborative des réponses. Le but est de développer une fonction de saisie hiérarchiquement collaborative, afin que les prises de position aux divers niveaux au sein de l’organisation soient saisies en ligne et puissent être consolidées et validées en tant que réponse à la consultation par le niveau immédiatement supérieur. Cette étape de processus permet de traiter les consultations à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur des administrations de manière plus efficiente, plus continue et sans rupture de médias pour tous les participants par le biais d’une plateforme centrale. Cela peut accélérer les processus décisionnels et simplifier considérablement la collaboration à l’intérieur de l’administration (Confédération, cantons, villes et communes). Les organisations en dehors de l’administration reçoivent un outil leur permettant de participer ou de saisir leurs propres prises de position et peuvent ainsi profiter pour elles-mêmes des avantages d’une administration numérique.

Le projet vise à élaborer et à valider un concept de mise en œuvre avec divers cantons. Après la mise en œuvre du module, un document de bonne pratique sera rédigé et publié pour indiquer les modalités permettant de réaliser les consultations de façon coopérative.

Assemblées primaires en ligne dans le Haut-Valais (communes de Bitsch, Täsch et Salgesch)

Au premier trimestre de 2021, trois assemblées primaires seront également réalisées en ligne dans le Haut-Valais. Dans ce contexte, les personnes intéressées pourront consulter des informations et suivre des débats depuis chez elles ou pendant qu’elles se déplacent. Le projet vise à renforcer le débat politique au sein de la commune en s’adressant à des personnes appartenant à toutes les tranches d’âge. Les groupes cibles de ce projet sont notamment les personnes d’un certain âge qui n’assistent pas à l’assemblée primaire parce qu’elles font partie du groupe à risque, les jeunes qui ont tendance à moins s’intéresser à la politique communale, ainsi que les membres de la population qui ont peur du public, mais sont en quête d’informations.

Grâce au soutien financier de la Cyberadministration suisse, l’essai pilote pourra être réalisé dans trois communes avec différents prestataires. Chaque prestataire organisera la mise en œuvre à sa façon. Ces différences d’aménagement ont pour but d’aider les communes à identifier les possibilités et à repérer les éventuelles difficultés. Ainsi, les communes doivent pouvoir organiser les manifestations futures de manière autonome et sans soutien professionnel. Ces trois communes visent à rendre la vie plus attrayante en permettant à toutes les habitantes et à tous les habitants de participer activement à la vie politique du village à tout moment.

Speakers’ Corner (Ville de Lugano)

Speakers’ Corner veut être un lieu (virtuel) où les étudiants peuvent se rencontrer et échanger des idées avec la ville qui les accueille. Un espace virtuel, envisagé comme une plateforme participative, où les étudiants peuvent se confronter et discuter entre eux et, en même temps, interagir avec les institutions. Speakers’ corner est né comme un projet pilote en 2020: 25 étudiants ont participé à cet atelier, où des professionnels de la communication web, des journalistes et des entrepreneurs ont exprimé leurs recommandations.

Le but de ce projet est d'offrir aux étudiants un débouché dans la société vers la vie quotidienne, la population, les entreprises, etc. Une vitrine virtuelle pour présenter leurs recherches qui risquent trop souvent de rester confinées dans le contexte académique. La ville (l’administration municipale de Lugano) peut, à son tour, bénéficier de ce réseau pour interagir avec les étudiants et comprendre leurs besoins. Fort de ces résultats encourageants, le projet sera transformé en 2021 en une activité annuelle récurrente et, parallèlement, en un portail web comprenant une plateforme participative. La solution développée (portail web) est essentiellement divisée en deux macrodomaines: la partie relative à la présentation vidéo des recherches effectuées par les étudiants et la plateforme participative.

Réseau Decidim Suisse (Ville de Zurich)

Notamment grâce au soutien de la Cyberadministration suisse, la ville de Zurich a pu l’an dernier tester avec succès le logiciel Open Source «Decidim» venant de Barcelone dans le projet «Idée de quartier». Outre la ville de Zurich, qui souhaite désormais utiliser aussi «Decidim» dans divers autres processus, le canton de Genève utilise lui aussi ce logiciel flexible. D’autres villes suisses sont également sur le point de le mettre en œuvre. Pour l’instant, chaque organisme responsable adapte ce logiciel à ses besoins par ses propres moyens.

Le but de ce projet est d’établir un réseau qui coordonne les adaptations individuelles en vue de tirer le meilleur parti possible des effets de synergie du logiciel open source. Des modules dans le domaine de la sécurité, de la convivialité ou de la fonctionnalité (par ex. consultations) pourront ainsi être développés conjointement. Cette coordination profitera en particulier aux petits acteurs (villes, communes, ONG), car le logiciel sera republié et mis à disposition gratuitement.

Grâce au soutien de la Cyberadministration suisse, la coordination des collectivités sera assurée à l’avenir par un réseau Decidim suisse qui pourra éventuellement être organisé sous forme d’association. Le financement par la Cyberadministration suisse permettra concrètement la mise en œuvre et l’exploitation pilote d’une plateforme Decidim commune sur le modèle de Meta-Decidim à Barcelone. Des instructions, des Q&A (questions et réponses) et des coordonnées de contact pourront y être publiées en libre accès pour d’autres collectivités.

Plateforme en ligne destinée à des processus participatifs sur meinthurgau.ch (Ville d’Arbon)

Dans le programme de la législature 2019-2023, le conseil municipal d’Arbon cherche à encourager la participation numérique de la population. Pour cela, le secteur Société de la ville d’Arbon a lancé le projet «Plateforme en ligne destinée à des processus participatifs». L’évaluation de nombreuses plateformes a permis de constater que l’élaboration d’outils spécifiques pour la cyberparticipation sur la plateforme multiservice www.meinthurgau.ch paraissait la plus prometteuse pour encourager au niveau communal la participation de la population à des projets municipaux. Dans un essai pilote, les outils standards de la plateforme ont été utilisés, des expériences ont été collectées et le type d’outils de cyberparticipation devant encore être développés a été évalué. Conformément à l’idée d’une approche partagée, les outils développés sont également utilisables par d’autres communes et par le canton sur la plateforme meinthurgau.ch. Le projet poursuit les objectifs suivants:

  • Renforcer la transparence dans les projets de développement de la commune politique.
  • Encourager la participation de tous les groupes de la population, en fonction de l’âge, de la nationalité ou du statut, pour des développements municipaux et sociaux spécifiques.
  • Aménager des services et des projets durables et axés sur les besoins.
  • Mettre en place une plateforme de cyberparticipation conviviale en coordination avec d’autres projets informatiques municipaux (nouveau site web, concept Smart-City, etc.).
  • Développer une solution informatique innovante et pouvant être adoptée par d’autres villes et communes.

L’application Regio Frauenfeld – pour des communes plus efficientes et une plus grande participation des citoyens dans la région de Frauenfeld (Regio Frauenfeld)

Les communes de la région de Frauenfeld ont de plus en plus de difficultés à recenser les besoins de leurs citoyennes et de leurs citoyens en raison de la forte hausse du nombre d’habitants, du nombre élevé de pendulaires et des ressources administratives limitées. C’est ce que révèle un sondage représentatif réalisé à l’automne 2020 par les 15 communes de la région de Frauenfeld.

Des formes de participation numériques telles que l’application Regio Frauenfeld, qui contient des informations communales, des fonctions de sondage et de discussion, peuvent corriger le tir en apportant une aide autant à la population qu’aux administrations. Cette application permet à la population de prendre part à la vie des communes sans contraintes de temps ni de lieu. Dans le même temps, les communes peuvent recenser plus efficacement les besoins de la population et les analyser de manière automatisée. Au fur et à mesure de son utilisation, l’application Regio sera adaptée au mieux aux besoins des utilisateurs grâce à la participation des citoyens.

Le projet «appli Regio» se déroule dans deux à trois communes modèles typiques de la Regio Frauenfeld. Lorsque les fonctions fondamentales de l’application auront été développées, la population les testera et les évaluera. L’application sera perfectionnée avec l’aide de la population et des formations seront organisées pour les administrations communales. Une application régionale permet également aux petites communes de recourir à des formes plus efficaces de participation des citoyens; son entretien serait (trop) coûteux pour des communes faisant cavalier seul. La possibilité de recourir à des données d’une région tout entière rend l’application nettement plus attrayante pour les divers utilisateurs.