Jump to content

Business identification number (UID)

The business identification number (UID) enables companies to use a single number to identify themselves for all contacts with the administration and all administrative units. Data can thus be exchanged efficiently and reliably between the business community and the administration.

Data in a reference register

There are numerous different identification numbers for companies in the public administration, which means that data from many administrative processes cannot be used in a coordinated manner. This results in duplication, which puts an unnecessary administrative burden on companies and the administration. The Federal Statistical Office established a uniform means of identification for companies within the framework of the eGovernment project B1.05 "Uniform business identifier". The UID lightens the burden for companies in their exchanges with the authorities and simplifies the exchange of information between the Confederation, cantons and communes. Because the updating of data is performed in only one reference register, the administrative burden is significantly reduced.

Introduction status

The UID has been introduced in the administration's large company registers. The commercial register and VAT register have been using the UID since 2014. The UID has been integrated at each of the some 90 AHV compensation funds since the start of 2016. The same applies for the Federal Customs Administration. It is now mandatory for Swiss companies to provide the UID when importing and exporting. The UID is increasingly being used to identify companies in the private sector as well. Many companies have also added the UID to their customer bases.

The following overview shows the progress made on introducing the UID in various registers.

UID introduction for the more than 300 administrative units (UID offices), with comprehensive duties in accordance with UID legislation (as at May 2016)

Documentation and further information

Search in the UID register

Contact

Federal Statistical Office
UID
Espace de l'Europe 10
CH-2010 Neuchâtel

Hotline: 0800 20 20 10 (Monday to Friday 08:30-11:30 / 14:00-16:00)

Email: uid@bfs.admin.ch

Aller directement au contenu.

Numéro d’identification des entreprises (IDE)

Le numéro d’identification des entreprises (IDE) permet aux entreprises de s’identifier, au moyen d’un seul et même numéro, lors d’opérations administratives ainsi qu’auprès de tous les services administratifs. Ainsi, les milieux économique et administratif peuvent échanger des données de manière fiable et efficace.

Données saisies dans un registre de référence

Au sein de l’administration publique, il existe de nombreux types de numéros d’identification destinés aux entreprises. Dans ces conditions, les données relatives aux processus administratifs ne peuvent pas être exploitées de manière coordonnée, et les doubles emplois qui en résultent constituent une charge administrative inutile pour les entreprises et l’administration. Dans le cadre du projet de cyberadministration B1.05 «Identificateur unique d’entreprise», l’Office fédéral de la statistique a créé un moyen d’identification unique pour les entreprises. L’IDE vise à réduire la charge administrative qui pèse sur les échanges entre les entreprises et les autorités, d’une part, et à faciliter l’échange d’informations entre la Confédération, les cantons et les communes, d’autre part. La charge administrative peut en effet être considérablement réduite, car les données ne sont mises à jour que dans un seul registre de référence.

Etat d’avancement de l’introduction

Les grands registres des entreprises ont été dotés de l’IDE. Le registre du commerce et la TVA l’utilisent depuis 2014. Depuis le début de 2016, l’IDE a été introduit dans les quelque 90 caisses de compensation AVS, de même qu’au sein de l’Administration fédérale des douanes. Les entreprises suisses sont désormais tenues d’indiquer leur IDE lorsqu’elles importent ou exportent des marchandises. Dans l’économie privée également, l’IDE est de plus en plus souvent utilisé pour identifier les entreprises. Par ailleurs, de nombreuses entreprises ont complété les données relatives à leurs clients avec l’IDE.

L’état d’avancement de l’introduction de l’IDE au sein de différents registres est décrit ci-après.

Introduction de l’IDE dans les environ 300 unités d’administration (services IDE) avec obligations étendues selon la loi IDE (état mai 2016).

Documentation et informations complémentaires

Informations sur l’IDE
Register IDE
Informations sur le registre IDE

Contact

Office fédéral de la statistique
IDE
Espace de l’Europe 10
CH-2010 Neuchâtel

Permanence téléphonique: 0800 20 20 10 (du lundi au vendredi, de 8 h 30 à 11 h 30 et de 14 h 00 à 16 h 00)

Adresse e-mail: uid@bfs.admin.ch