Jump to content

Monitoring 2019

In the 2019 monitoring exercise, the eGovernment Programme Office provides an overview of eGovernment developments in Switzerland (September 2018 to August 2019) and compares them with those abroad. National and international study sets are analysed, with a particular focus on indicators for user centricity, infrastructure and innovation, basic services, mobility and transparency.

eGovernment Switzerland compared with other countries

Online services

Availability: The analysis showed that 84% of Swiss public services are available online (EU: 84%); this is up 10% on four years ago. The United Nations study also shows that the availability of online services has improved by 0.25 index points in two years. In 2018, Switzerland was in 35th place in the Online Service Index (0.85 on a scale of 0 to 1; the average score was 0.57) out of a total of 193 countries studied. The top-scoring countries are Denmark, the US, Singapore and Korea.

Sources: EU eGovernment Benchmark 2019; UN eGovernment Survey 2018

Usage: Approximately 58% of the Swiss population has used the public authorities' online offering over the past 12 months. Switzerland and Germany score better than in the previous year, whereas Austria's usage score has gone down. The flexibility in terms of time and location means that people are turning to online methods when using public services.

Source: 2019 eGovernment Monitor

Usage barriers: Over the last four years, Switzerland has managed to reduce barriers to the use of digital public services. Awareness of online services has been raised by some 20%. The main reasons cited have remained virtually unchanged over the years:

  • 46% do not know enough about what is on offer (lack of awareness)
  • 42% describe online interaction as too impersonal (impersonal interaction)
  • 40% are worried about data security (data security concerns)

Source: 2019 eGovernment Monitor

Infrastructure and innovation

eGovernment development: Switzerland ranks 15th out of 193 countries in the eGovernment Development Index (index value of 0.85; the average score is 0.55) and has moved up 13 places in two years.

Source: UN eGovernment Survey 2018

Innovation: In 2019, for the ninth year in succession, Switzerland was among the leaders in innovative capacity. It achieved the top ranking in the areas of knowledge, technology and creativity. As regards quality of innovation, it ranks fourth in the world, behind the US, Germany and Japan.

Source: The Global Innovation Index 2019

Basic services

Switzerland's level of development of basic services is below the European average (CH 31%; EU 61%). There is currently no national state-recognised eID in Switzerland. Moreover, only a few services autofill forms with information already known to the authorities ("once-only").

Source: EU eGovernment Benchmark 2019

Mobility

The Swiss general public and businesses are able to use digital public services in a cross-border context (e.g. business start-ups or study periods abroad). In this regard, Switzerland is well ahead of the EU average (CH 74%; EU 66%).
 
Source: EU eGovernment Benchmark 2019

Transparency

As regards transparency, many European countries are further ahead than Switzerland (CH 44%; EU 66%). The authorities openly offer data on their own responsibilities and services. The way in which services and personal data are used must become much more transparent. There is, however, considerably more information available on business services than on services for the general public.

Source: EU eGovernment Benchmark 2019

eGovernment in the cantons and communes

Cantonal eGovernment strategies

All cantons except one have an eGovernment strategy in place (status: August 2018). Most cantons have either significantly or completely adapted their cantonal strategies in line with the eGovernment Strategy Switzerland.

Source: 2019 National eGovernment Study

eGovernment in the cantons and communes

The leaders in digitalisation are the cantons of St Gallen, Aargau, Zug and Neuchâtel. The Confederation and the cantons would like to introduce an eID. The communes mainly want seamless availability of the eMovingCH service across the whole of Switzerland.

Sources: University of Bern Institute for Political Science; 2019 National eGovernment Study

Aller directement au contenu.

Monitorage 2019

En assurant le monitorage 2019, la Direction opérationnelle de la cyberadministration suisse établit une vue d’ensemble de l’évolution de la cyberadministration en Suisse (de septembre 2018 à août 2019) et compare cette évolution avec celles des autres pays. Pour ce faire, des séries d’études nationales et internationales sont analysées. Des indicateurs tels que la prise en considération des besoins des clients, l’infrastructure, l’innovation, les prestations de base, la mobilité et la transparence sont examinés.

La cyberadministration en Suisse et à l'étranger

Services en ligne

Disponibilité: 84 % des prestations des autorités suisses sont disponibles en ligne (UE: 84 %), soit 10 % de plus qu’il y a quatre ans. Une étude des Nations Unies démontre aussi que la disponibilité des services en ligne a augmenté de 0,25 point en deux ans. Affichant un indice des services en ligne de 0,85 (sur une échelle de 0 à 1, moyenne 0,57), la Suisse s’est classée en 2018 au 35e sur 193 pays examinés. Le Danemark, les États-Unis, Singapour et la Corée occupaient les premières places.

Source: rapport comparatif de l'Union européenne sur la cyberadministration (eGovernment Benchmark) 2019 et enquête 2018 des Nations Unies sur l’administration en ligne

Utilisation: Environ 58 % de la population suisse a utilisé une prestation électronique des autorités au cours des douze derniers mois. La Suisse et l’Allemagne obtiennent de meilleurs résultats que l’année précédente, alors que l’Autriche a vu son taux d’utilisation régresser. La flexibilité liée au lieu et aux horaires encourage les gens à passer aux services en ligne.

Source: étude comparative 2019 sur la cyberadministration

Obstacles: En quatre ans, la Suisse a pu supprimer les obstacles qui entravaient l’utilisation des services électroniques. La notoriété de ceux-ci a ainsi pu être améliorée d’environ 20 %. La plupart des raisons citées pour la non-utilisation de ces services restent quasiment les mêmes au fil des années:

  • 46 % des personnes ne connaissent pas suffisamment les prestations (manque de notoriété);
  • 42 % considèrent que les services en ligne sont impersonnels (traitement impersonnel);
  • 40 % doutent de la sécurité des données.
Source: étude comparative 2019 sur la cyberadministration

Infrastructure et innovation

Développement de la cyberadministration: Avec un indice de développement de la cyberadministration égal à 0,85 (contre 0,55 en moyenne), la Suisse se classe 15e place sur 193 pays. Elle a gagné 13 places en deux ans.

Source: enquête des Nations Unies sur l’administration en ligne 2018

Innovation: Pour la neuvième fois consécutive, la Suisse reste un des leaders mondiaux de l’innovation. En matière de savoir, de technologie et de créativité, elle décroche le 1er rang. En matière de qualité de l’innovation, elle occupe la 4e place mondiale juste après les États-Unis, l’Allemagne et le Japon.

Source: indice mondial de l’innovation 2019

Services de base

En ce qui concerne le développement des services de base, la Suisse accuse un retard notable par rapport à la moyenne européenne (Suisse: 31 %; UE: 61 %). En Suisse, il n’existe pas encore d’identification électronique (e-ID) valable à l’échelle nationale. De plus, seuls quelques services permettent de remplir automatiquement des formulaires au moyen d’informations déjà connues des autorités (principe once-only).

Source: rapport comparatif de l’Union européenne sur la cyberadministration (eGovernment Benchmark) 2019

Mobilité

En Suisse, la population et les entreprises peuvent utiliser les services en ligne des autorités indépendamment du pays dans lequel elles se trouvent (par exemple pour fonder une entreprise ou organiser un séjour d’études à l’étranger). Dans ce domaine, la Suisse se situe clairement au-dessus de la moyenne européenne (Suisse: 74 %; UE: 66 %).
 
Source: rapport comparatif de l’Union européenne sur la cyberadministration (eGovernment Benchmark) 2019

Transparence

En termes de transparence, de nombreux pays européens sont plus avancés que la Suisse (Suisse: 44 %; UE: 66 %). Les autorités fournissent ouvertement des données sur leurs propres compétences et services. La transparence concernant le traitement ou l’utilisation des prestations et des données personnelles doit être sensiblement accrue. Toutefois, il existe bien plus d’informations sur les services liés aux entreprises que sur ceux qui sont destinés à la population.

Source: rapport comparatif de l’Union européenne sur la cyberadministration (eGovernment Benchmark) 2019

La cyberadministration dans les cantons et les communes

Stratégie cantonale de cyberadministration

À l’exception d’un canton, tous les cantons ont défini une stratégie de cyberadministration (état: août 2018). La plupart se sont fortement ou totalement inspirés de la stratégie nationale.

Source: étude nationale 2019 sur la cyberadministration

Cyberadministration dans les cantons et les communes

Les cantons de Saint-Gall, d’Argovie, de Zoug et de Neuchâtel font la course en tête au niveau de la transition numérique. La Confédération et les cantons entendent instaurer l’e-ID. Les communes souhaitent surtout que le service eDéménagement soit disponible dans toute la Suisse, sans changement de support.

Source: Institut de sciences politiques de l’Université de Berne et étude nationale 2019 sur la cyberadministration