Jump to content

Establishment of an electronic identity (E-ID) that is valid nationally and internationally

The aim of the strategic project is for internet users to be able to identify themselves correctly and securely. They require an electronic identity in order to do so.

Aims of the strategic project

More and more people are carrying out diverse transactions on the internet which require them to identify themselves. The electronic identity (E-ID) used for this purpose should be correct and protect against confusion. In order to prevent falsified electronic identities being issued, the Federal Council has defined the core task of issuing an E-ID, i.e. officially checking and confirming the existence of the person and their identifying features such as name, sex and date of birth, as government responsibility.

However, the Confederation will neither develop nor issue the technological medium that this state certified and confirmed identity will take; options include mobile telephones, bank cards, public transport passes. This is to be done by providers who are closer to users and the relevant technology. However, it will be the federal government's job to make sure providers and their solutions undergo a strict recognition procedure and are also subject to regular checks. A certification authority for this purpose established within the Federal Department of Finance (EFD) will assume this task.

The use and disclosure of data is in sole control of the person concerned. On the other hand, each online service provider can decide for itself whether they require the state certified identity in order to allow people to use their services or not.

The E-ID is a key infrastructure element on which further digital services can be built, e.g. fully digital eGovernment, eVoting, eBanking, eHealth, eEducation and eCommerce. It should make an important contribution to Switzerland's digital transformation in the process.

Dispatch on eID Act adopted

Business processes are increasingly being moved to the digital world. To make it possible for more demanding transactions to be carried out online too, business partners need to be able to trust the identity of the other party. Consequently, the Federal Council wishes to create the legal and organisational framework for electronic identification services. Having acknowledged the results of the consultation process, it instructed the Federal Department of Justice and Police (FDJP) during its meeting on 15 November 2017 to prepare a draft law. On 1 June 2018, the Federal Council adopted the dispatch on the Federal Act on Recognised Electronic Means of Identification.

Measures supported in the strategic plan

Measure / Deliverable Deadline
Establishment of a legal framework for state-recognised electronic means of identification (eID) which allows a needs-based internet identification and authentication, particularly for portals of the federal authorities. By taking international standards and requirements into account, this eID will later be recognised in the EU. postponed (31.12.2020)
Creation of a standardisation framework for state-recognised electronic means of identification (eID). Definition of the technical and organisational standards, security levels and technical rules which are obligatory for state-recognised eID systems. In particular, these should ensure unobstructed in-teroperability between recognised eID systems and be compatible with EU regulations.

31.12.2018

Development and further development of a "demonstrator" and a design recommendation (best practices) for the state-recognised eID as a reference model and, in particular, as a contribution to communication and marketing.

31.12.2019

Creation of an attribute interface at the State Identity Service (SIS).
This will happen in parallel with the political consultations concerning the planned eID Act.

31.12.2019

Project status

The Federal Council acknowledged the results of the consultation during its meeting on 15 November 2017. Taking into account the feedback from the consultation, the FDJP has now prepared a dispatch for a Federal Act on Electronic Identification Services (eID Act).

Documentation

Federal Office of Justice (information in German)

Organisation responsible

Federal Office of Police fedpol

Contact person: Philippe Lorenz

Contact: philippe.lorenz(at)fedpol.admin.ch, +41 58 485 08 44

Direkt zum Inhalt

Etablierung einer national und international gültigen elektronischen Identität (E-ID)

Ziel des strategischen Projektes ist, dass sich die Nutzerinnen und Nutzer im Internet korrekt und sicher identifizieren können. Dafür brauchen sie eine elektronische Identität.

Ziele des strategischen Projekts

Immer mehr Leute tätigen ganz unterschiedliche Geschäfte im Internet, bei denen sie sich identifizieren müssen. Die dafür eingesetzte elektronische Identität (E-ID) soll korrekt sein und vor Verwechslungen schützen. Um zu verhindern, dass falsche elektronische Identitäten ausgestellt werden, hat der Bundesrat die Kernaufgabe bei der Ausstellung einer E-ID, nämlich die amtliche Prüfung und Bestätigung der Existenz einer Person und ihrer Identitätsmerkmale wie Name, Geschlecht oder Geburtsdatum, als Staatsaufgabe definiert.

Die technologischen Träger dieser staatlich geprüften und bestätigten elektronischen Identität, denkbar sind z. B. Mobiltelefon, Bankkarte oder ÖV-Abonnemente, wird der Bund allerdings weder entwickeln noch ausstellen. Dies sollen Anbieterinnen tun, die näher an den Anwenderinnen und Anwendern sowie an der massgebenden Technologie sind. Aufgabe des Staates wird es aber sein, Anbieterinnen und deren Lösungen einem strengen Anerkennungsverfahren und regelmässigen Kontrollen zu unterziehen. Eine hierfür gegründete Anerkennungsstelle beim Eidgenössischen Finanzdepartement (EFD) wird diese Aufgabe übernehmen.

Die Hoheit über den Einsatz und die Freigabe der Daten liegt ausschliesslich in der Hand der betreffenden Person. Auf der anderen Seite entscheidet jede Anbieterin eines Online-Dienstes selbst, ob sie für die Nutzung ihres Dienstes die Verwendung der staatlich anerkannten digitalen Identität verlangt oder nicht.

Die E-ID ist ein Schlüsselinfrastrukturelement, auf dem weitere digitale Dienste aufbauen, z. B. für ein durchgehend digitales E-Government, E-Voting, E-Banking, E-Health, E-Education oder E-Commerce. Dabei soll sie einen wichtigen Beitrag zur digitalen Transformation der Schweiz leisten.

Botschaft zu E-ID-Gesetz verabschiedet

Geschäftsprozesse werden immer häufiger in die digitale Welt verlagert. Damit auch anspruchsvollere Geschäfte online abgewickelt werden können, brauchen die Geschäftspartnerinnen und -partner Vertrauen in die Identität ihres Gegenübers. Der Bundesrat will deshalb rechtliche und organisatorische Rahmenbedingungen für elektronische Identifizierungsdienste schaffen. Er hat an seiner Sitzung vom 15. November 2017 das Eidgenössische Justiz- und Polizeidepartement (EJPD) nach Kenntnisnahme der Resultate der Vernehmlassung beauftragt, einen Gesetzesentwurf auszuarbeiten. Am 1. Juni 2018 verabschiedete der Bundesrat die Botschaft zum Bundesgesetz über anerkannte elektronische Identifizierungseinheiten. 

Ausstellung der elektronischen Identität

Der nachstehende Film veranschaulicht, wie der Staat und private Dienstleister bei der Bereitstellung der elektronischen Identität zusammenarbeiten werden.

Im Schwerpunktplan unterstützte Massnahmen

Massnahmen / Lieferobjekte Termin
Entwicklung und Weiterentwicklung eines «Demonstrators» und einer Design-Empfehlung (best practices) für staatlich anerkannte E-ID-Systeme als Referenzmodell und insbesondere als Beitrag zu Kommunikation und Marketing. 31.12.2019
Schaffung eines Standardisierungsrahmens für staatlich anerkannte E-ID-Systeme, welcher eine hindernisfreie Interoperabilität sicherstellt und mit den EU-Regelungen kompatibel ist.

31.12.2018

Schaffung eines Rechtsrahmens für staatlich anerkannte elektronische Identifizierungseinheiten (E-ID), die eine bedarfsgerechte Identifizierung und Authentifizierung im Internet und insbesondere an Behördenportalen erlauben. Durch Berücksichtigung von internationalen Vorgaben und Standards sollen diese E-ID später auch in der EU anerkannt werden können.

verschoben (31.12.2020)

Aufbau der Attributschnittstelle beim Staatlichen Identitätsdienst, SID.
Der Aufbau erfolgt parallel zu den politischen Beratungen des geplanten E-ID-Gesetzes.

31.12.2019

Projektstand

Der Bundesrat hat in seiner Sitzung vom 15. November 2017 von den Ergebnissen der Vernehmlassung Kenntnis genommen. Das EJPD hat nun, unter Berücksichtigung der Rückmeldungen aus der Vernehmlassung, eine Botschaft für ein Bundesgesetz über elektronische Identifizierungsdienste (E-ID-Gesetz) ausgearbeitet.

Dokumentation

Dokumente zum E-ID-Gesetz (Website des BJ)
Präsentation: staatlich anerkannte E-ID-Systeme
Format:
PDF
Größe:
590 kb
Aktualisiert:

Verantwortliche Organisation

Bundesamt für Polizei fedpol

Ansprechperson: Philippe Lorenz

Kontakt: philippe.lorenz(at)fedpol.admin.ch, +41 58 485 08 44