Jump to content

Business identification number (UID)

The business identification number (UID) enables companies to use a single number to identify themselves for all contacts with the administration and all administrative units. Data can thus be exchanged efficiently and reliably between the business community and the administration.

Data in a reference register

There are numerous different identification numbers for companies in the public administration, which means that data from many administrative processes cannot be used in a coordinated manner. This results in duplication, which puts an unnecessary administrative burden on companies and the administration. The Federal Statistical Office established a uniform means of identification for companies within the framework of the eGovernment project B1.05 "Uniform business identifier". The UID lightens the burden for companies in their exchanges with the authorities and simplifies the exchange of information between the Confederation, cantons and communes. Because the updating of data is performed in only one reference register, the administrative burden is significantly reduced.

Introduction status

The UID has been introduced in the administration's large company registers. The commercial register and VAT register have been using the UID since 2014. The UID has been integrated at each of the some 90 AHV compensation funds since the start of 2016. The same applies for the Federal Customs Administration. It is now mandatory for Swiss companies to provide the UID when importing and exporting. The UID is increasingly being used to identify companies in the private sector as well. Many companies have also added the UID to their customer bases.

The following overview shows the progress made on introducing the UID in various registers.

UID introduction for the more than 300 administrative units (UID offices), with comprehensive duties in accordance with UID legislation (as at May 2016)

Documentation and further information

Search in the UID register

Contact

Federal Statistical Office
UID
Espace de l'Europe 10
CH-2010 Neuchâtel

Hotline: 0800 20 20 10 (Monday to Friday 08:30-11:30 / 14:00-16:00)

Email: uid@bfs.admin.ch

Direkt zum Inhalt

Unternehmensidentifikationsnummer (UID)

Die Unternehmensidentifikationsnummer (UID) ermöglicht es den Unternehmen, sich bei allen Verwaltungskontakten und gegenüber allen Verwaltungsstellen mit einer einzigen Nummer zu identifizieren. So können Daten zwischen der Wirtschaft und der Verwaltung effizient und mit hoher Zuverlässigkeit ausgetauscht werden.

Daten in einem Referenzregister

In der öffentlichen Verwaltung bestehen zahlreiche unterschiedliche Identifikationsnummern für Unternehmen. Dies führt dazu, dass sich die Daten vieler administrativer Prozesse nicht koordiniert verwenden lassen. Die Folge davon sind Doppelspurigkeiten, welche die Unternehmen und die Verwaltung administrativ unnötig stark belasten. Im Rahmen des E-Government Vorhaben B1.05 «Einheitlicher Unternehmensidentifikator» hat das Bundesamt für Statistik eine einheitliche Identifikation der Unternehmen etabliert. Die UID entlastet Unternehmen im Kontakt mit Behörden und vereinfacht den Informationsaustausch zwischen Bund, Kantonen und Gemeinden. Da die Nachführung der Daten nur noch in einem einzigen Referenzregister erfolgt, wird der administrative Aufwand erheblich reduziert.

Stand der Einführung

Die UID ist in den grossen Unternehmensregistern der Verwaltung eingeführt. Das Handelsregister und die Mehrwertsteuer benutzen die UID seit 2014. Seit Anfang 2016 ist die UID bei allen ca. 90 AHV-Ausgleichskassen integriert. Ebenso bei der Eidgenössischen Zollverwaltung. Für Schweizer Unternehmen ist die Angabe der UID bei Importen und Exporten nun obligatorisch. Auch in der Privatwirtschaft wird die UID zur Kennzeichnung der Unternehmen zunehmend benutzt. Viele Unternehmen haben ihre Kundenstämme zudem mit der UID ergänzt.

Die nachstehende Übersicht zeigt, den Stand der Einführung der UID in verschiedenen Registern.

UID-Einführung bei den gut 300 Verwaltungseinheiten (UID-Stellen) mit umfassenden Pflichten gemäss UID-Gesetzgebung (Stand Mai 2016).

Dokumentation und weiterführende Informationen

Informationen zur UID
UID-Register
Informationen zum UID-Register

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Statistik
UID
Espace de l’Europe 10
CH-2010 Neuchâtel

Hotline: 0800 20 20 10 (Montag bis Freitag 08:30 – 11:30 / 14:00 – 16:00)

E-Mail: uid@bfs.admin.ch