Jump to content

LINDAS Linked Data Service

This page describes the work carried out as part of the implementation of Switzerland's eGovernment strategy for 2008 to 2015. As the pilot version of LINDAS was replaced in January 2020 by a working version, some links lead to the new version.

Swiss authorities can use the LINDAS platform at lindas.admin.ch to make their data available as linked data. The platform also gives developers access to the data. In parallel, the Federal Archives are conducting a linked data project designed to develop the LINDAS service further.

How does LINDAS work?

What is Linked Data?

Linked data refers to the networking of data on a dedicated online platform using technology that is an integral part of the semantic web. This data can come from a variety of different sources and cover different topics. On its website, Cambridge Semantics offers tutorials (see Semantic University section) to familiarise you with the basic principles of linked data, the RFD (Resource Description Framework) format and the SPARQL protocol.

The LINDAS pilot service

Available at www.lindas-data.ch (no longer in operation since December 2019), LINDAS was developed as a pilot platform and launched in 2015 by the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO). The SFA ran it from the beginning of 2017 until the end of 2019.

The platform development project

In parallel, the Federal Archives are conducting a Linked Data project designed to develop the service further. Further information on this project is published on the operational platform's website.

The aim of this project is to create a service that can convert data into linked data simply and thus make it much easier to connect it to other data. The first application scenarios have already been tested and implemented using the prototype at www.lindas-data.ch. Some of them are described in more detail under "Documentation", where you can also find more background information on the project.

Applications being considered or in progress on the pilot platform:

  • aLOD Archival Linked Open Data (SFA and other institutions)
  • Epizootics (Federal Food Safety and Veterinary Office)
  • Excerpt from The Swiss Book (National Library)
  • Official data (official directory) and list of prices and services (canton of Graubünden, providers of government solutions)
  • Energy management of railway carriages (MeteoSwiss and SBB)
  • Corporate data subset for a one-stop shop for companies (State Secretariat for Economic Affairs and Federal Office of Justice)
  • Stops and additional information (SBB)
  • Historical federal budgets and legislation (SFA)
  • Historicised Official Commune Register (Federal Statistical Office)
  • Stapfer Enquête (SFA)
  • Environmental data (Federal Office for the Environment)

Documentation

Organisation responsible

Swiss Federal Archives
Archivstrasse 24
3003 Bern

Contact:

Jean-Luc.Cochard(at)bar.admin.ch

Direkt zum Inhalt

Linked Data Service – LINDAS

Auf dieser Webseite werden die Arbeiten zur Umsetzung der E-Government-Strategie Schweiz im Zeitraum 2008–2015 beschrieben. Nach dem Ersatz des Prototyps von LINDAS durch eine produktive Version im Januar 2020 wurden einige Links entsprechend angepasst.

Über den Linked Data Service – LINDAS können Schweizer Behörden auf lindas.admin.ch ihre Daten als Linked Data zur Verfügung stellen. Entwicklerinnen und Entwickler erhalten auf der gleichen Plattform Zugang zu diesen Daten. Parallel zum Service führt das Bundesarchiv zudem ein Linked Data-Projekt durch, das eine Weiterentwicklung des Services LINDAS anstrebt.

Wie funktioniert LINDAS?

Was ist Linked Data?

Linked Data ist eine Technologie, mit deren Hilfe Daten leicht miteinander verknüpft werden können – daher der Name „Linked Data“. Das können Daten unterschiedlichster Themenbereiche und Herkunft sein. Die Technologie ist Teil des Semantischen Webs. Die Firma Cambridge Semantic bietet Tutorials an, um die Grundprinzipien von Linked Data, RDF und SPARQL zu verstehen.

Der Prototyp LINDAS

Der Service LINDAS auf lindas-data.ch (seit Dezember 2019 ausser Betrieb) war ein Prototyp. Er wurde 2015 vom Staatssekretariat für Wirtschaft SECO entwickelt. Von Anfang 2017 bis Ende 2019 wurde er vom Bundesarchiv betrieben. 

Das Projekt zur Weiterentwicklung der Plattform

Parallel zum Service führt das Bundesarchiv ein Linked Data-Projekt durch, das eine Weiterentwicklung des Services anstrebt. Weiterführende Informationen zum Projekt werden auf der Internetseite des Service veröffentlicht, sobald dieser in Betrieb geht.

Die Vision des Projektes ist ein Service, der mit wenig Aufwand Daten in Linked Data umwandeln und so die Verknüpfung mit anderen Daten wesentlich erleichtern kann. Mit dem Prototypen auf lindas-data.ch wurden bereits erste Anwendungsfälle getestet und umgesetzt. Einige davon sind unter „Dokumentation“ genauer beschrieben. Dort finden Sie zudem weitere Projektgrundlagen.

Anwendungsfälle, die auf dem Prototyp in Umsetzung oder in Abklärung sind:

  • aLOD Archival Linked Open Data (Bundesarchiv und andere Institutionen)
  • Ausbruchsabklärung von Tierseuchen (Bundesamt für Lebensmittelsicherheit und Veterinär-wesen)
  • Auszug Schweizer Buch (Nationalbibliothek)
  • Behördendaten/Staatskalender und Leistungsverzeichnis (Kanton Graubünden, Anbieter von Behördenlösungen)
  • Energiebewirtschaftung von Zugswagons (MeteoSchweiz und SBB)
  • Firmendaten Subset für One Stop Shop für Unternehmen (Staatsekretariat für Wirtschaft und Bundesamt für Justiz)
  • Haltestellen und Zusatzinformationen (SBB)
  • Historische Bundesbudgets und historisches Recht (Bundesarchiv)
  • Historisiertes Gemeindeverzeichnis (Bundesamt für Statistik)
  • Stapfer Enquête: Schule in der Schweiz (Bundesarchiv)
  • Umweltdaten (Bundesamt für Umwelt)

Dokumentation

Ausbruchsabklärung von Tierseuchen
Format:
PDF
Größe:
160 kb
Aktualisiert:
Historisiertes Gemeindeverzeichnis
Format:
PDF
Größe:
160 kb
Aktualisiert:
Umweltdatenkiosk
Format:
PDF
Größe:
372 kb
Aktualisiert:

Verantwortliche Organisation

Schweizerisches Bundesarchiv
Archivstrasse 24
3003 Bern

Kontakt:

Jean-Luc.Cochard(at)bar.admin.ch