Jump to content

Monitoring 2020

With its monitoring system, eGovernment Switzerland creates an overview of eGovernment progress in Switzerland and compares it with other countries. Its current monitoring covers the results from September 2019 to August 2020, based on national and international studies, as well as its own analyses.

The following indicators for measuring Switzerland's eGovernment progress are examined within the framework of the monitoring process: e-services and e-participation, infrastructure, human capital and innovation, basic services, mobility and transparency. It also considers the effects of the coronavirus pandemic. A detailed report can be found here:

Monitoring report 2020 (in German)
Format:
PDF
Size:
784 kb
Updated:

eGovernment Switzerland compared with other countries

Switzerland has dropped one place in the eGovernment Development Index and ranks 16th out of 193 countries (2018: 15th).

Supply and demand

E-Participation:

The positive e-participation trend in recent years has continued in Switzerland. Out of a total of 193 countries, it has moved up from 41st (2019) to 18th place (2020). Denmark and South Korea rank top of the list.

Source: UN eGovernment Survey 2020

Usage and experience

Internet usage:

93% of the Swiss population uses the internet daily. Within five years, internet usage has increased by around 10%. Eight out of ten people use the internet on mobile devices; two years ago, only a quarter did so. The proportion of internet users rises with higher levels of education.

Source: 2019 survey conducted by the Federal Statistical Office (FSO) on internet usage in Swiss households

Impact of the COVID-19 crisis

12% of Swiss respondents said that they had carried out more of their dealings with the authorities online during the COVID-19 crisis, with 3% using an e-service for the first time. However, the avoidance of interaction with the authorities was the most frequently cited response (30%). The result was identical in Austria, whereas the figures in Germany were lower.

Source: 2020 eGovernment Monitor

Mobility

Users who wish to obtain a service from another European country can do so for 55% (EU: 62%) of services to the general public and 97% (EU: 76%) of services to businesses.

Source: EU eGovernment Benchmark 2020

Infrastructure, human capital and innovation capacity

Telecommunications infrastructure

In terms of telecommunications infrastructure, Switzerland has an index value almost twice as high (0.95 out of 1) as the global value (global average 0.54). Switzerland has the world's most extensive mobile phone network and the highest density of broadband connections.

Source: UN eGovernment Survey 2020

Human capital

Three quarters of the Swiss population have good basic to advanced digital skills (FSO survey) and rank high internationally in this respect. In the current United Nations survey, Switzerland achieved a new high (index value 0.9 out of 1) in the area of human capital and is at an above-average level (global average 0.68).

Source: 2019 survey conducted by the Federal Statistical Office (FSO) on internet usage in Swiss households; UN eGovernment Survey 2020

Basic services

Despite a considerable improvement (+15% compared to the preliminary study), Switzerland's level of development of basic services (electronic identity, electronic documents, authentic sources and digital post) is well below the European average (CH 36%; EU 61%). On the positive side, official documents can be sent and received electronically for more than half of public services.

Source: EU eGovernment Benchmark 2020

Transparency

Swiss authorities are open when it comes to information on their own responsibilities and performance (CH 67%; EU 74%). However, when it comes to the traceability of service provision (from filling in forms until a service is received), they remain closed off (CH 25%; EU 58%). The authorities have become considerably more transparent (+15% compared to the preliminary study) with regard to the use of personal data (CH 42%; EU 65%). Overall, Switzerland is still below the EU average (CH 45%; EU 66%) for the "transparency" indicator, despite a 5% improvement. There is, however, considerably more information available on business services than on services for the general public.

Source: EU eGovernment Benchmark 2020

The cantons and communes collaborate to a large extent in eGovernment, and such cooperation is already anchored in law in six cantons.

Source: eGovernment Switzerland Programme Office survey (as of November 2019)

Direkt zum Inhalt

Monitoring 2020

Mit dem Monitoring schafft E-Government Schweiz einen Überblick über den E-Government-Fortschritt in der Schweiz und vergleicht diesen mit dem Ausland. Das aktuelle Monitoring umfasst die Ergebnisse von September 2019 bis August 2020.

Die Grundlage für das Monitoring bilden sowohl nationale und internationale Studien, als auch eigene Analysen. Im Rahmen des Monitorings werden folgende Indikatoren zur Bemessung des E-Government-Fortschritts der Schweiz beleuchtet: E-Services und E Partizipation, Infrastruktur, Humankapital und Innovation, Basisdienstleistungen, Mobilität und Transparenz. Das Monitoring 2020 bezieht sich auch auf die Auswirkungen der Corona-Pandemie. Einen detaillierten Bericht finden Sie hier: 

Monitoringbericht_2020.pdf
Format:
PDF
Größe:
784 kb
Aktualisiert:

E-Government Schweiz im Vergleich zum Ausland

Die Schweiz verliert im E-Government-Entwicklungsindex einen Platz und nimmt Platz 16 von 193 Ländern ein (2018: Rang 15).

Angebot und Nachfrage

E-Partizipation:

Der positive Trend im Bereich E-Partizipation der vergangenen Jahre setzt sich in der Schweiz fort. Von insgesamt 193 Ländern rückt sie von Platz 41 (Jahr 2019) auf Platz 18 (2020) vor. Auf den obersten Rängen befinden sich Dänemark und Südkorea.

Quelle: UN eGovernment Survey 2020

Nutzung und Nutzungserlebnis

Internetnutzung:

93 % der Schweizer Bevölkerung nutzen täglich das Internet. Innerhalb von fünf Jahren hat die Nutzung des Internets um ca. zehn Prozent zugenommen. Acht von zehn Personen nutzen das Internet über mobile Geräte. Vor zwei Jahren tat dies nur ein Viertel. Der Anteil der Internetnutzerinnen und -nutzer steigt mit zunehmendem Bildungsstand.

Quelle: Erhebung des Bundesamtes für Statistik (BFS) zur Internetnutzung in den Schweizer Haushalten 2019

Auswirkungen der Corona-Krise

12 % der Befragten aus der Schweiz haben angegeben, während der Corona-Krise ihre Behördengänge vermehrt online durchgeführt zu haben. 3 % haben zum ersten Mal einen E-Service benutzt. Die Vermeidung von Behördengeschäften war aber mit 30 % die meist genannte Antwort. In Österreich ist das Ergebnis identisch, während die Werte in Deutschland tiefer liegen. 70 % der Schweizerinnen und Schweizer möchten auch nach der Corona-Krise öfter Online-Dienste nutzen.

Quelle: E-Government Monitor 2020

Mobilität

Nutzerinnen und Nutzer, die eine Dienstleistung aus einem anderen europäischen Land beziehen möchten, können dies bei 55 % (EU: 62%) der Dienste für die Bevölkerung und bei 97 % (EU: 76%) der Dienste für Unternehmen tun.

Quelle: EU eGovernment Benchmark 2020

Infrastruktur, Humankapital und Innovationskapazität

Telekommunikationsinfrastruktur

Im Bereich der Telekommunikationsinfrastruktur besitzt die Schweiz einen fast doppelt so hohen Indexwert (0.95 von 1) als der globale Wert (globaler Durchschnitt 0.54). Die Schweiz verfügt weltweit über das am weitesten ausgebaute Mobilfunknetz und die höchste Dichte an Breitbandanschlüssen.

Quelle: UN eGovernment Survey 2020

Humankapital

Dreiviertel der Schweizer Bevölkerung besitzt gute Grundkenntnisse bis erweiterte digitale Kompetenzen (BFS-Erhebung) und liegt diesbezüglich im internationalen Ranking weit oben. In der aktuellen Studie der Vereinten Nationen erreicht die Schweiz im Bereich Humankapital einen Höchstwert (Indexwert 0.9 von 1) und liegt auf einem überdurchschnittlich hohen Niveau (globaler Durchschnitt 0.68).

Quelle: Erhebung des Bundesamtes für Statistik (BFS) zur Internetnutzung in den Schweizer Haushalten 2019 und UN eGovernment Survey 2020

Basisdienste

Die Schweiz liegt im Ausbaustand grundlegender Basisdienste (elektronische Identität, elektronische Dokumente, authentische Quellen und digitale Post) trotz einer starken Verbesserung (+ 15 % zur Vorstudie) deutlich hinter dem europäischen Durchschnitt (CH 36 %; EU 61 %). Positiv zu vermerken ist, dass das elektronische Versenden und Erhalten offizieller Dokumente bei mehr als der Hälfte der Behördendienste möglich ist.

Quelle: EU eGovernment Benchmark 2020

Transparenz

Schweizer Behörden sind offen, wenn es um Informationen zu eigenen Zuständigkeiten und Leistungen geht (CH 67 %; EU 74 %). Bei der Nachvollziehbarkeit der Leistungserbringung (Ausfüllen der Formulare bis zum Erhalt der Leistung) geben sie sich aber verschlossen (CH 25 %; EU 58 %). Deutlich transparenter (+15 % im Vergleich zur Vorstudie) sind die Behörden bei verwendeten Personendaten (CH 42 %; EU 65 %) geworden. Insgesamt liegt die Schweiz im Indikator «Transparenz» trotz einer Verbesserung um 5 % noch immer hinter dem EU-Durchschnitt (CH 45 %; EU 66 %). Bei unternehmensbezogenen Diensten finden sich allerdings deutlich mehr Informationen, als bei jenen für die Bevölkerung.

Quelle: EU eGovernment Benchmark 2020

E-Government-Zusammenarbeit und rechtliche Grundlagen

Die Kantone und Gemeinden arbeiten im E-Government grossenteils zusammen. In sechs Kantonen ist die E-Government-Zusammenarbeit bereits rechtlich verankert.

Quelle: Eine Umfrage der Geschäftsstelle E-Government Schweiz (Stand November 2019)