Jump to content

Monitoring 2019

In the 2019 monitoring exercise, the eGovernment Programme Office provides an overview of eGovernment developments in Switzerland (September 2018 to August 2019) and compares them with those abroad. National and international study sets are analysed, with a particular focus on indicators for user centricity, infrastructure and innovation, basic services, mobility and transparency.

eGovernment Switzerland compared with other countries

Online services

Availability: The analysis showed that 84% of Swiss public services are available online (EU: 84%); this is up 10% on four years ago. The United Nations study also shows that the availability of online services has improved by 0.25 index points in two years. In 2018, Switzerland was in 35th place in the Online Service Index (0.85 on a scale of 0 to 1; the average score was 0.57) out of a total of 193 countries studied. The top-scoring countries are Denmark, the US, Singapore and Korea.

Sources: EU eGovernment Benchmark 2019; UN eGovernment Survey 2018

Usage: Approximately 58% of the Swiss population has used the public authorities' online offering over the past 12 months. Switzerland and Germany score better than in the previous year, whereas Austria's usage score has gone down. The flexibility in terms of time and location means that people are turning to online methods when using public services.

Source: 2019 eGovernment Monitor

Usage barriers: Over the last four years, Switzerland has managed to reduce barriers to the use of digital public services. Awareness of online services has been raised by some 20%. The main reasons cited have remained virtually unchanged over the years:

  • 46% do not know enough about what is on offer (lack of awareness)
  • 42% describe online interaction as too impersonal (impersonal interaction)
  • 40% are worried about data security (data security concerns)

Source: 2019 eGovernment Monitor

Infrastructure and innovation

eGovernment development: Switzerland ranks 15th out of 193 countries in the eGovernment Development Index (index value of 0.85; the average score is 0.55) and has moved up 13 places in two years.

Source: UN eGovernment Survey 2018

Innovation: In 2019, for the ninth year in succession, Switzerland was among the leaders in innovative capacity. It achieved the top ranking in the areas of knowledge, technology and creativity. As regards quality of innovation, it ranks fourth in the world, behind the US, Germany and Japan.

Source: The Global Innovation Index 2019

Basic services

Switzerland's level of development of basic services is below the European average (CH 31%; EU 61%). There is currently no national state-recognised eID in Switzerland. Moreover, only a few services autofill forms with information already known to the authorities ("once-only").

Source: EU eGovernment Benchmark 2019

Mobility

The Swiss general public and businesses are able to use digital public services in a cross-border context (e.g. business start-ups or study periods abroad). In this regard, Switzerland is well ahead of the EU average (CH 74%; EU 66%).
 
Source: EU eGovernment Benchmark 2019

Transparency

As regards transparency, many European countries are further ahead than Switzerland (CH 44%; EU 66%). The authorities openly offer data on their own responsibilities and services. The way in which services and personal data are used must become much more transparent. There is, however, considerably more information available on business services than on services for the general public.

Source: EU eGovernment Benchmark 2019

eGovernment in the cantons and communes

Cantonal eGovernment strategies

All cantons except one have an eGovernment strategy in place (status: August 2018). Most cantons have either significantly or completely adapted their cantonal strategies in line with the eGovernment Strategy Switzerland.

Source: 2019 National eGovernment Study

eGovernment in the cantons and communes

The leaders in digitalisation are the cantons of St Gallen, Aargau, Zug and Neuchâtel. The Confederation and the cantons would like to introduce an eID. The communes mainly want seamless availability of the eMovingCH service across the whole of Switzerland.

Sources: University of Bern Institute for Political Science; 2019 National eGovernment Study

Direkt zum Inhalt

Monitoring 2019

Mit dem Monitoring 2019 schafft die Geschäftsstelle einen Überblick über die E-Government-Entwicklung in der Schweiz (September 2018 bis August 2019) und vergleicht sie mit jener im Ausland. Dazu werden nationale und internationale Studienreihen analysiert. Insbesondere werden die Indikatoren Benutzerorientierung, Infrastruktur und Innovation, Basisdienstleistungen, Mobilität und Transparenz beleuchtet.

E-Government Schweiz im Vergleich zum Ausland

Online Dienste

Verfügbarkeit: Die untersuchten Online-Dienstleistungen der Schweizer Behörden sind zu 84 % online verfügbar (EU: 84 %) und damit 10 % mehr als vor vier Jahren. Auch in der Studie der United Nation hat sich die Verfügbarkeit von Online-Dienstleistungen in zwei Jahren um 0.25 Indexpunkte verbessert. Die Schweiz belegte 2018 beim Online Service Index (0,85 auf einer Skala von 0 bis 1, Durchschnitt 0,57) den 35 Platz von insgesamt 193 untersuchten Ländern. Auf den ersten Plätzen sitzen Dänemark, die Vereinigten Staaten, Singapur und Korea.

Quellen: EU eGovernment Benchmark 2019 und UN eGovernment Survey 2018

Nutzung: Ungefähr 58 % der Schweizer Bevölkerung haben in den letzten 12 Monaten ein Online-Angebot der Behörden genutzt. Die Schweiz und Deutschland schneiden besser als im Vorjahr ab, während in Österreich die Nutzung abgenommen hat. Die örtliche und zeitliche Flexibilität motiviert Personen, Behördendienste elektronisch abzuwickeln.

Quelle: E-Government Monitor 2019

Nutzungsbarrieren: Innerhalb von vier Jahren konnte die Schweiz die Hürden der Nutzung von E-Services der Behörden abbauen. Die Bekanntheit von Online-Diensten konnte um rund 20 % erhöht werden. Die meist genannten Gründe sind über die Jahre praktisch unverändert:

  • 46 % kennen die Angebote zu wenig (fehlende Bekanntheit)
  • 42 % beschreiben die Online-Abwicklung als zu unpersönlich (unpersönliche Abwicklung)
  • 40 % haben Bedenken betreffend Datensicherheit (Bedenken Datensicherheit)
Quelle: E-Government Monitor 2019

Infrastruktur und Innovationen

E-Government-Entwicklung: Die Schweiz erreicht beim E-Government-Entwicklungsindex den Platz 15 von insgesamt 193 Ländern (Indexwert von 0.85, der Durchschnitt liegt bei 0.55) und verbessert sich in zwei Jahren um 13 Ränge.

Quelle: UN eGovernment Survey 2018

Innovationen: Die Schweiz bleibt zum neunten Mal in Folge auch im Jahr 2019 weltweit führend in der Innovationsfähigkeit. Sie erzielt in den Bereichen Wissen und Technologie sowie Kreativität Höchstwerte (Rang 1). Bei der Qualität der Innovation liegt sie weltweit an vierter Stelle, gleich nach den USA, Deutschland und Japan. 

Quelle: The Global Innovation Index 2019

Basisdienste

Die Schweiz liegt im Ausbaustand grundlegender Basisdienste hinter dem europäischen Durchschnitt (CH 31 %; EU 61 %). In der Schweiz gibt es heute noch keine national gültige E-ID. Zudem erfolgt das automatische Ausfüllen von Formularen mit Informationen, die den Behörden bereits bekannt sind (Once-Only), erst bei wenigen Diensten. 

Quelle: EU eGovernment Benchmark 2019

Mobilität

Die Schweizer Bevölkerung und Unternehmen können Online-Dienste der Behörden grenzübergreifend nutzen (z. B. Unternehmensgründung oder Studienaufenthalt im Ausland). In diesem Bereich liegt die Schweiz klar vor dem EU-Durchschnitt (CH 74 %; EU 66 %). 
 
Quelle: EU eGovernment Benchmark 2019

Transparenz

Was die Transparenz angeht sind viele europäische Länder fortgeschrittener als die Schweiz (CH 44 %; EU 66 %). Die Behörden bieten die Daten zu eigenen Zuständigkeiten und Leistungen offen an. Die Nachvollziehbarkeit der Abwicklung bzw. Verwendung von Leistungen und Personendaten müssen deutlich transparenter werden. Bei Unternehmensbezogenen Diensten finden sich allerdings deutlich mehr Informationen als bei jenen für die Bevölkerung.

Quelle: EU eGovernment Benchmark 2019

E-Government in den Kantonen und den Gemeinden

Kantonale E-Government Strategien

Mit Ausnahme eines Kantons besitzen alle Kantone eine E-Government-Strategie (Stand August 2018). Die Mehrheit der Kantone haben ihre kantonalen Strategien eher stark bis vollständig an die E-Government-Strategie Schweiz angepasst.

Quelle: Nationale E-Government Studie 2019

E-Government in den Kantonen und den Gemeinden

Spitzenreiter bei der Digitalisierung sind die Kantone St.Gallen, Aargau, Zug und Neuchâtel. Bund und Kantone wünschen die Einführung der E-ID. Die Gemeinden möchten vor allem, dass der Service E-Umzug schweizweit medienbruchfrei möglich wird.

Quelle: Institut für Politikwissenschaft der Universität Bern und Nationale E-Government Studie 2019